top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureTracey Tina

There’s a storm outside…

Here I am, waiting for the patters on my roof to cease, hoping for the rain's final farewell. Standing by my window, a cloak wrapped around me, I long for the warmth of the sun, the comfort of a cloudless sky.



The sound starts to fade, and just when I think it's over, it intensifies again. I watch the low-hanging sky, the streaks of lightning, and my heart thuds in response to the thunder's roar.

It seems the sky sobs.


As time passes, all I can think of is poetry. I am an artist—not as magnificent as the one behind the heavens, but still... The heavens are dark and the stars are hidden, yet I can feel their presence.

There's a gloom in the cold air, a sadness in the relentless ticking of the clock. I glance at the umbrella, fearful I can't survive the storm. Minutes slip into hours; before I realize it, a whole day has passed with the storm raging outside. My soul is too shaken to stay, yet too scared to step out.

But how long can I stay here? How much longer can this shell protect me? Until the streets are flooded? Until night has fallen?

I have to go out and face the rain, even if I'm uncertain whether the sun will shine again. I have to.

0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

留言


bottom of page